Two Years of Sweat

Category: Exercise Log.

I’ve decided to categorize posts in this blog. Posts in this category, “Exercise Log”, will discuss progress with exercise, or, describe a single day’s activity.

I have done the exercise course at the park for over two years now, usually every other day. I’ve increased the number of reps at each station gradually, and replaced walking with jogging and running very gradually. I now do the “advanced” level of reps, or more, at almost every station. I now can jog or run (rather than walk) between all stations, unless I am overheated. That is required at the “advanced” level.

Some results are clear. My muscle strength for everyday tasks is greatly improved. My aerobic condition is modestly improved. My muscles are visibly larger and my belly smaller.

I have lost only a little weight since starting, about 5%. Clearly that includes more muscle, and less fat, than before. I hope for more weight loss than that.

I am less depressed than before. Of course, that is subjective and hard to quantify.

I want to have more energy and motivation throughout the day. But actually, after exercising, I am very tired for a while. It’s hard to say whether I am more energetic in the remainder of the day. Again, subjective and hard to quantify.

I want to be fit enough for sports and other physical activity. Here I am a bit frustrated. The other day I did some jogging in the sand at the beach. My (stronger and better-defined) leg muscles were quite sore the next day. Similarly, if I play tennis, my right arm and my legs are usually sore the next day. On the upside, a long day of moving boxes and furniture recently was far easier than it was five years ago.

I want to avoid heart disease, which is probably my main health risk. I used to take statin drugs for years, which is somewhat dangerous to the liver. Now, my blood tests are almost as good, without statins. I’d be curious to see the current condition of my arterial walls, but I doubt that my health insurance would pay for the exam. Twenty years ago, I saw (on an ultrasound) that the walls were thicker than they ought to be.

Net net, I guess the exercise program is going well.

Leave a Reply

