Danner Boots for Hikers

Over thirty-five years ago, the awesome Jim S convinced me to splurge on my Danner brand boots . To this day they remain a sturdy companion for hard hikes. I don’t say “comfy” because my model is designed for support and safety first, as befits Jim S., a guy who likes to climb rocks and camp in ice-filled valleys. (I know two people who like ice-camping. I also know other crazy people who do not.) (Jim’s girlfriend Maria really really loved him; she even went ice-camping with him.) I also like the occasional rock scramble, and I am sure these saved my ankles more than once.

Recently, I finally managed to do some slight damage to the boots. I emailed Danner about possible solutions, expecting to receive a sales pitch in response. Instead I received a sensible answer the same day! They pointed out that a fix at home would probably not last; a good local cobbler could fix the boots; and Danner’s own repair department also is available.

Great boots, great customer service.

Leave a Reply

